Hinsdale Library

These database subscriptions have been purchased for you by the Hinsdale Public Library.

A valid Hinsdale Public Library card is required to access these databases remotely, but anyone can use them in the library.

Barcode number:

Research Resources

Live Homework Help

Live Homework Help

Connect to Live Homework Help Illinois for one-on-one help with your homework in any subject: math, science, English, social studies, and more.

Magazines and Newspapers

ProQuest

Features the full text of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Time, Newsweek, Barron's, The Economist and numerous other newspapers, magazines and journals.

ArticleFirst

An index of articles from over 16,000 journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, the humanities, and popular culture

Eco

an index of scholarly journals in anthropology, economics, law, literature, religion, and more

ERIC

journal articles and reports in education

WilsonSelectPlus

full text articles in the humanities, science, business, and education

Chicago Tribune

Newsbank

Search the full text of the Chicago Tribune 1985 to the present, historical articles on important events, the RedEye, and the Doings via Newsbank

Proquest

Search the full text of the Chicago Tribune 1985 to the present

Proquest

Search every page of every issue of the Chicago Tribune 1849-1986 via Proquest

Biography and Genealogy

GaleNet Biography
Resource Center

Exhaustive database searchable by name and other criteria such as occupation and nationality

Heritage Quest Online

an authoritative source for genealogical materials

Books and Literature

GaleNet Literature
Resource Center

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers

Novelist

find your next great read with this fiction guide for readers of all ages

Business Resources

Reference USA

business and residential directory covering the United States and Canada

Public Records Online

Public filings of bankruptcies, new businesses and new homeowners, and home foreclosures and sales in the counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will


Morningstar Investment Research Center

Information on stocks and mutual funds for investors and researchers

Current Issues and History

Global Road Warrior

travel, historical, and cultural information for students, researchers, and travelers

World News Digest

information, analysis, and source documents from 1940 to the present

Issues and Controversies

hot topics in politics, government, business, education, and popular culture

American Decades

20th-century events and culture in the U.S.

History Behind the Headlines:
The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide

the roots of contemporary ethnic, religious, political, territorial, and economic conflicts

Europe, 1450 to 1789: An
Encyclopedia of the Early Modern Era

all aspects of life and important people

Encyclopedia of Modern Europe:
Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia
of the Age of Industry and Empire

Europe's political, social, and cultural institutions were transformed by the forces of industrialization, nationalism, mass politics, imperialism, great power rivalries, and innovative cultural change

Encyclopedia of Modern Europe:
Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia
of the Age of War and Reconstruction

covers European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union

Encyclopedia of World War I

political, social and military history

Encyclopedia of World War II

political, social and military history

Globalization: Encyclopedia
of Trade and Politics

covers post- World War II issues of world relations and economics

Historical Statistics of the
United States, Millennial Edition

counterpart to a five-volume printed set that includes statistics of American life from as early as the 1600s to the 21st century

Health and Medicine

Medline

from the National Library of Medicine, an index of article summaries and and citations from over 3,500 medical journals

ProQuest

articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines on health, medicine, exercise, and other topics

Kids and Students

SIRS Discoverer

full-text magazine articles on animals, countries and cultures, government, notable people, sports, and more

Grzimek's Student Animal Life Resource

animal behavior and habitats with illustrations of each species

Real-Life Math

math concepts illustrated by examples from everyday life

Space Exploration Reference Library

History, technology, and personalities of space travel

Global Road Warrior

travel, historical, and cultural information for students, researchers, and travelers

World Book Advanced

More than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents-books, documents, selections-fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research.

Library Catalogs

SWAN

History, technology, and personalities of space travel

WorldCat

a worldwide catalog of general, academic, and specialized libraries with millions of items

 

Hinsdale Public Library - 20 East Maple Street Hinsdale, IL 60521 Phone: (630) 986-1976

© 2005 Hinsdale Public Library